Friday, September 6, 2013

Singapore will host WTA Championships in 2014

Singapore will be taking over from Turkey to host the Women Tennis Association Championships, also known as WTA Championships, from 2014 to 2018. The WTA Championship has been labeled as the most prestigious championship beside the 4 Grand Slams; Australian Open (January), the French Open (May/June), Wimbledon (June/July), and the US Open (August/September).

Most of the top 10 ranked ladies players will be taking part in this well known competition and Singapore will be expecting many tennis fans flocking to the island to catch a glimpse of the Top 10 single players; 1) Serena Williams, 2) Victoria Azarenka, 3) Maria Sharapova, 4) Agnieszka Radwanska, 5) Sara Errani, 6) Li Na, 7) Marion Bartoli, 8) Caroline Wozniack, 9) Petra Kvitova and 10) Angelique Kerber.

Singapore is being given the rights to host the WTA Championship from 2014 to 2018. This has generated a lot of excitement in the ladies tennis scene. The organisor of the competition will definitely be training and recruiting many players and volunteers (with tennis knowledge) to support in the tournament as ball girls, other roles.

This recruitment plan has driven up the number of sign-ups for ladies tennis lessons and kids tennis lessons. Most likely, students are fans of Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams, Li Na and other top ranked ladies players who will be completing in the Singapore Tournament.

Recently, ápice Tennis Club has received many requests from parents to send their kids to learn basic tennis so that their kids will have an added advantage to be involved in the WTA Championship as volunteers or supporting staff.

One thing for sure is that the number of enquiry and sign-ups will increase as the date draws nearer to the WTA Championships in 2014.

1 comment: