Sunday, May 5, 2013

Malaysia Election News

Malaysia Election results are out: Malaysia's ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition won the 2013 Malaysia Elections  with a majority of 133 seats in the 222-seat parliament. This is less than their 2008 tally of 140 and the worst result for BN since the 1969 elections. Opposition PR (Pakatan Rakyat) won 89 seats which is better than their previous showing. This is BN's 13th consecutive victory in general elections since independence from Britain in 1957.

Current government of Malaysia, Barisan Nasional (BN) is the world's longest-ruling coalition. Opposition, led by former finance minister Anwar Ibrahim, is hoping to extend the gains in 2008 elections to a victory. Elections in Malaysia follow the first-past-the-post system where the candidate with more votes than any other(s) win the election.

Back in 2008 Malaysia General Elections, the opposition parties that would later form the Pakatan Rakyat coalition won a total of 82 seats by which Barisan Nasional has lost two-thirds majority. This was the worst worst result since the 1969 elections. Two-thirds majority is required to pass amendments to the Federal Constitution.

Anwar Ibrahim
Malaysia opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim

No comments:

Post a Comment